top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

When Faith Struggles

I am struggling with this sickness that has held me in its grip for 12 days! I am not used to being sick - especially not for this long! And as I shared my discouragement with God this morning, I began to be aware that what I am dealing with is nothing compared with those suffering long term illness! And I ache for them. It must be so hard. And I think if my Dad who struggled so much in the last years of his life, and it makes me cry - as it often does.


And then I think of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane - tortured by thoughts of what he was to endure. And these words spilled out of him (Mark 14:36 NKJV) "And He said, 'Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me;..." Here was his humanity pouring out its soul cry! He couldn't bear the thought of where the next few hours were leading!! He knew God could shut it down if he wanted to! Just like we know that he could answer those cries of our hearts! And no-one had a closer bond with the Father than him!


But Jesus' next words reveal his understanding of the need for the plan to play out, and his deep trust in his Father - "nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.” To me, this is one of the deepest, most heart rending moments, where I see with clarity, the man - and the struggle that the gift we so often take for granted, was to him.


And God did not remove the cup. Even though he loved him so much! Even though he too was broken there with his son. He could not. Because they both knew there was no life for us otherwise. He had to see it through. To its bitter end.


I cannot claim to understand why God "hears" some prayers, and appears to ignore others. I only know that the same Father who loved his son with a passion, allowed his pain because he loves us with passion too! Some prayers will play out with instant healing! Others may be a long time coming. And may not reach us in this world! But never think your God is ignoring you!


These are his words (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV) For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. " This is his intent for you! And if the gifts you ache for seem a long time in coming, just remember this. Though reasons may be hidden to us, he can be trusted. Our Father is the same one that Jesus trusted. And he will follow through!


Comments


bottom of page